About OMP and MPI parallelisation

Hi, I started using SIESTA 4 months ago and I am still learning. Reading the manual there isn’t a lot of documentation on SIESTA performance with parallelisation routines. The manual suggests some tips and tricks to increase parallel performance, like using Metis or parallelisation over k points. It also says that for OMP+MPI it’s tricky to get a good performance.
My question here is why and how? Why should I use MPI over OMP or hybrid and in what situations?
How can I know what to do to get a good performance or what parallelisation should I use ?
I don’t have a GPU but in the future I might so in what cases should I use Elsa GPU ?

Hi,

Performance is a very broad topic and you will need some time and efforts to get at ease with it. It is not only a question of selecting a parallelization strategy for your calculations but also of knowing what the program you want to execute has been optimized for.

MPI is usually a good start because it provides a fair speed-up in many situations and because programs like SIESTA have usually been parallelized for MPI first. This kind of parallelization is not too sensitive to the kind of system you have at hand.

OpenMP can be of interest in small computers as laptops to make tests and on clusters where the individual nodes have a large amount of RAM. Getting a high speed-up is quite sensitive to the kind of system you have, which means that you have to make tests with different numbers of threads (search for OMP_NUM_THREADS) before going to production.

GPU can give you very high speed-ups if your system is well-suited for GPU calculations but may degrade performance significantly if this is not the case. In brief, this is both system-sensitive and hardware-sensitive. What works for a specific GPU configuration might totally fail for another.